I never saw him holding a guitar in real life

I enjoy Otis Redding. He had an intensity on stage without being backed up by loud guitars. Very few songs give me a rush like the last half of TRY A LITTLE TENDERNESS.

I have a “big 4” when it comes to bands: Metallica, Slayer, The Clash, Sleater-Kinney (in order of discovery). They are not necessarily the ones I listen to the most often, but their music had the most impact on me. Metallica & Slayer spoke to my teen angst, still helps me wake up in the morning and stay awake while driving. The Clash & Sleater-Kinney got me more into political music. As a guy, most of the artists I like are male, but S-K rocks as hard as many (not Metallica or Slayer of course) of the male bands I like. Besides giving me something to relate to, music gives me a jolt…..so I prefer hard rock/metal. However, I enjoy Otis Redding. He had an intensity on stage without being backed up by loud guitars. Very few songs give me a rush like the last half of TRY A LITTLE TENDERNESS. Although not one of his more well known songs, OLD MAN TROUBLE is probably my favorite. I never really liked MY GIRL until I heard his live version. His voice just does something amazing to that song. There are songs that give me a jolt and songs that give me goosebumps. Pearl Jam’s version of DOCK OF THE BAY (only performed once in early 1994 as an encore) just gives me the chills. I wish they would release a professional recording of it (or play it live again). It has that Vedderesque angst which works surprisingly well for a song that’s not an angry song.

Author: The Walking Map

I grew up in a small borough outside of a small city in eastern Pennsylvania. As soon as I got my driver's license, I started going to see my favorite rock bands (Metallica, Ozzy Osbourne, Pearl Jam, Slayer, Sleater-Kinney to name a few) and quickly realized that I wanted to spend as much time traveling as possible. After earning my bachelor's degree in Management/Marketing from Penn State University, I started traveling overseas and have since traveled to 38 countries spanning 5 different continents. I'm an urban explorer who loves using public transportation. My 4 favorite American cities are New York, San Francisco, Washington, D.C. & Boston. I'm a lover of food and culture who has been to every state except Alaska. Brazil and Russia are at the top of my bucket list. If you need advice on where to get the best pizza or French macarons, I'd love to help!

Leave a Reply

