Brian in Lima, Rush in Rio

Thanks to my Netflix DVD subscription, I get all kinds of old wrestling and concert DVDs delivered to my door every week. As I’ve been planning my trip to Peru, I’ve been watching/listening to Rush in Rio, which was recorded in 2002 and released in 2003.

Earlier this month, I booked my 1st trip to South America in 7 years. Although I’ll be visiting Peru for my 36th birthday, I always thought Brazil would be the next South American country I’d visit.

Thanks to my Netflix DVD subscription, I get all kinds of old wrestling and concert DVDs delivered to my door every week. As I’ve been planning my trip to Peru, I’ve been watching/listening to Rush in Rio, which was recorded in 2002 and released in 2003.

RUSH is not one of my favorite bands. They have some songs I like. I’m a casual fan of their music up to and including Signals. If “Subdivisions” were not on Signals, I would then say that I’m a fan of their music up to and including Moving Pictures. Although this period adds up to less than 10 years of their 41 year career, it’s one year longer and one album more than Eddie Trunk said he prefers of the RUSH catalog. Like Eddie, I’m not much into synth music and although I consider Moving Pictures to be a good album, it did mark the period in their career where synths crept in.

One thing I really appreciate about this DVD is that like Eddie Vedder, Geddy Lee tries to speak the native tongue to the audience. Another thing I appreciate is the fact that they played two of their 10 minute masterpieces in the same show: “Natural Science” & “La Villa Strangiato.” Along with the 10 minute “The Camera Eye,” these are two of my favorite RUSH songs. For me, the other highlights from the DVD/CD are “Limelight” and “The Spirit of Radio.” Opening with “Tom Sawyer” is definitely a way to get the majority of the crowd into the show from the start. Based on what I’ve seen (on DVD) and read, South American audiences are the most intense by far.

When Rush in Rio was released, they were touring in support of their 17th studio album (Vapor Trails). Any band with such an extensive catalog is bound to disappoint some fans with what they leave out. Although Rush in Rio is nearly three hours, that amounts to less than 1/4 of their  (at the time) catalog. They skipped two of my favorites: “A Passage to Bangkok”, “Subdivisions.”

“A Passage to Bangkok” is special to me, because Thailand is special to me. Lyrically, “Subdivisions” is one of my favorite songs of all time. Whereas “Limelight” has one line that really stands out to me (“I can’t pretend a stranger is a long-awaited friend”), “Subdivisions” is engaging from start to finish:

Sprawling on the fringes of the city
In geometric order
An insulated border
In between the bright lights
And the far unlit unknown

Growing up it all seems so one-sided
Opinions all provided
The future pre-decided
Detached and subdivided
In the mass production zone

Nowhere is the dreamer
Or the misfit so alone

Subdivisions —
In the high school halls
In the shopping malls
Conform or be cast out
Subdivisions —
In the basement bars
In the backs of cars
Be cool or be cast out
Any escape might help to smooth
The unattractive truth
But the suburbs have no charms to soothe
The restless dreams of youth

Drawn like moths we drift into the city
The timeless old attraction
Cruising for the action
Lit up like a firefly
Just to feel the living night

Some will sell their dreams for small desires
Or lose the race to rats
Get caught in ticking traps
And start to dream of somewhere
To relax their restless flight

Somewhere out of a memory
Of lighted streets on quiet nights…

I also have the  video in my iTunes and enjoy watching it whenever I’m using mass transit:

Author: The Walking Map

I grew up in a small borough outside of a small city in eastern Pennsylvania. As soon as I got my driver's license, I started going to see my favorite rock bands (Metallica, Ozzy Osbourne, Pearl Jam, Slayer, Sleater-Kinney to name a few) and quickly realized that I wanted to spend as much time traveling as possible. After earning my bachelor's degree in Management/Marketing from Penn State University, I started traveling overseas and have since traveled to 38 countries spanning 5 different continents. I'm an urban explorer who loves using public transportation. My 4 favorite American cities are New York, San Francisco, Washington, D.C. & Boston. I'm a lover of food and culture who has been to every state except Alaska. Brazil and Russia are at the top of my bucket list. If you need advice on where to get the best pizza or French macarons, I'd love to help!

Leave a Reply

