I May Roam

I had a difficult time deciding on a web address for my blog. Since I’m known for having thousands of song titles stored in my head, ready to be rattled off at any second, I decided to look through the more than 12,000 songs in my iTunes library for ideas.

I had a difficult time deciding on a web address for my blog. Since I’m known for having thousands of song titles stored in my head, ready to be rattled off at any second, I decided to look through the more than 12,000 songs in my iTunes library for ideas. I arranged my music library by artist and started going through the list. Bruce Springsteen begins with a “B” and my best friend often joked about every one of his songs being about a road, highway, etc. Although I see his point, I could not turn a Bruce Springsteen song into web address for my blog.

The Clash are one of my four favorite bands of all time, but I was unable to turn a Clash song into a web address. In what seemed like an hour later, I came upon another of my four favorite bands of all time: Metallica. As soon as I saw “Wherever I May Roam,” I thought of myself and the fact that the greatest days for me are usually the ones where I wake up and decide which direction I will go in.

This morning, I listened to Metallica (the “Black Album”) from start to finish (well ok, I skipped the 8th song) for the first time in many years. With Metallica and Pearl Jam, I rarely listen to their studio work because I have dozens of live Metallica shows and hundreds of live Pearl Jam shows. Since they are probably my two favorite live bands, I rarely listen to their studio work, but this morning I made an exception.

Author: The Walking Map

I grew up in a small borough outside of a small city in eastern Pennsylvania. As soon as I got my driver's license, I started going to see my favorite rock bands (Metallica, Ozzy Osbourne, Pearl Jam, Slayer, Sleater-Kinney to name a few) and quickly realized that I wanted to spend as much time traveling as possible. After earning my bachelor's degree in Management/Marketing from Penn State University, I started traveling overseas and have since traveled to 38 countries spanning 5 different continents. I'm an urban explorer who loves using public transportation. My 4 favorite American cities are New York, San Francisco, Washington, D.C. & Boston. I'm a lover of food and culture who has been to every state except Alaska. Brazil and Russia are at the top of my bucket list. If you need advice on where to get the best pizza or French macarons, I'd love to help!

Leave a Reply

